More than ten years later, we are in the final stretch of the superheroic Cinematic Universe par excellence as we know it. In the absence of ‘ Avengers: Endgame ‘, it is clear that Marvel Studios has (almost) perfected being a blockbuster machine , also having a large fan base around its Cinematic Universe, the one that has been forming since the end of the last decade.

Since the premiere of Jon Favreau’s ‘ Iron Man ‘ in 2008, and up to now, we have been able to see some thirty productions: films, series and short films interrelated among them. That’s why today we bring you a guide so you can see all the “Avengers” movies in perfect sequence so you do not miss a single reference .

More than a decade being referents

Perfect Sequence to see avengers

The history of Marvel in the cinema has been, at least, strange. The publishing house until a few years ago did not have a great major betting strong for its licenses and in fact until 1986 we would not see the first feature film based on his character: ‘ Howard, a new hero ‘. Until the dawn of the third millennium Marvel did not have much luck, in fact the bankruptcy of the late 90s left them shivering.

In 1998 Marvel would enter a time of co-productions : ‘X-Men’ by Bryan Singer, ‘Spider-man’ by Sam Raimi and ‘Blade’ by Stephen Norrington were the successes in a time marked by big failures like ‘Daredevil’ or ‘ The Fantastic 4 ‘. It was clear that a change of strategy was needed. Marvel was already healthy and you had to try something ambitious.

I still remember that great enthusiasm (nerdgasm, rather) when in the credits of ‘Iron Man’ (2008) appeared Samuel L. Jackson characterized by Nick Fury talking to Tony Stark about an “Avengers Initiative”. In a piece of footage we were told that what we had just seen was the beginning of something else.

A couple of months later Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr.) made a very brief (and strangely improvised in almost all senses) appearance at the end of ‘The Incredible Hulk’ (2008), the great spiked navel of Marvel. That was already tangible, ‘The Avengers’ began their countdown and ten years later we have enjoyed a score of feature films, a dozen television series and a handful of short films.


The Marvel Cinematic Universe, in order

In general, and with some exceptions such as ‘Guardians of the Galaxy’ and the mess you have with Netflix, the order to watch movies is usually equivalent to the order in which they are shot. Then we propose this guide, divided by “years” (like the proposal of Marvel Studios ) so you can see all the movies and series in a more or less consistent order.

The past (or before “I am Iron Man”)

  • Captain America: First Avenger (1943-1945)
  • Agent Carter [T1] (1946)
  • Agent Carter [T2] (1947)
  • Agent Carter [One Shot] (1947)
  • ‘ Captain Marvel ‘ (1995, with flashbacks to 1989)
  • Iron Man (2008 | Year 0 – “2010”)

Year 1: the “Great Week of Fury” (“2011”)

  • Iron Man 2 (2011)
  • The incredible Hulk (2008 | begins the “Week of Fury”)
  • The Consultant [One Shot] (2011)
  • A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Thor’s Hammer [One Shot] (2011)
  • Thor (2011 | Finish the “Week of Fury”)

Year 2: The Battle of New York (“2012”)

  • The Avengers (2012)
  • Item 47 [One Shot] (2012)
  • Iron Man 3 (2013)

Year 3: the sequels (“2013”)

  • Agents of SHIELD [1×01-07] (2013)
  • All Hail The King [One Shot] (2014)
  • Thor: The Dark World (2013)
  • Agents of SHIELD [1×08-15] (2013-2014)

Year 4: Hail Hydra (“2014”)

  • Captain America: Soldier of Winter (2014)
  • Agents of SHIELD [1×16-22] (2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017 | occurs 3 or 4 months after the first)

Years 5-6: something happens in the Kitchen of Hell (“2015”)

  • Daredevil [T1] (2015 | begins 18 months after the Avengers)
  • Agents of SHIELD [2×01-20] (2014-2015)
  • The Avengers: The Age of Ultron (2015)
  • Agents of SHIELD [2×21-22] (2015)
  • Jessica Jones [T1] (2015)
  • Ant-Man (2015)
  • Agents of SHIELD [T3 Eps. 1-10] (2015-2016)
  • Daredevil [T2 | begins about six months after the T1] (2016)
  • Luke Cage [T1] (2016)

Years 7-8: road to infinity (“2016-2017”)

  • Iron Fist [T1] (2017)
  • Agents of SHIELD [T3 Eps. 11-19]
  • The Defenders (2017)
  • Captain America: Civil War (2016 | Eight years after ‘Iron Man’ according to The Vision)
  • Agents of SHIELD [3×20-22] (2016)
  • Black Panther (2018 | would happen in the weeks following the death of T’Chaka in ‘Civil War’)
  • ‘Cloak and Dagger’ [T1]
  • Inhumans [T1] (2017)
  • Agents of SHIELD: Slingshot
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017 | supposedly the course after CA: CW, but “8 years later” from The Avengers)
  • Runaways [T1]
  • Runaways [T2] (starts right after T1)
  • The Punisher [T1] (2017 | at least six months after DD T2)
  • Doctor Strange (2016)
  • Agents of SHIELD [T4]
  • Jessica Jones [T2]
  • ‘ Luke Cage ‘ [T2]
  • ‘Iron Fist’ [T2]
  • ‘ Daredevil ‘ [T3]
  • ‘ The Punisher ‘ [T2] (months after the first one and reference is made to the third of ‘Daredevil’)
  • Thor: Ragnarok (2017 | Two years after ‘A: AoU’)
  • Agents of SHIELD [T5 Part 2 – “of the present”, Eps. 12-13] (2017/2018)

The infinity (2018 …)

  • ‘Agents of SHIELD’ (T5 Eps. 14-22 – Note: these episodes, ‘Ant-Man and the Wasp’ and ‘Infinity War’ run more or less in parallel)
  • ‘ Ant-Man and the Wasp ‘ (two years after ‘Civil War’)
  • ‘ Avengers: Infinity War ‘ (2018 | 2 years after ‘Civil War’, six from ‘The Avengers’)
  • ‘Avengers: Endgame’ (months after the end of the first part)

The future

  • Agents of SHIELD [T5 Part 1 – “SHIELD in space” (1-11)] (occurs in 2091)


There is a small mess with ‘Spider-man: Homecoming’, which happens according to the film itself eight years after ‘The Avengers’ but at the same time the next course of ‘Civil War’, which does not end in a square . Something they fixed publishing an official chronology of the movies . Another thing is that we put ourselves with the extended chronology through the dialogues and flashbacks. For example, the story of Michael Douglas in ‘Ant Man’ is about thirty years after ‘Agent Carter’ and a few years before the death of Howard Stark and lady.


With Netflix series we have an added complication because, although they comment on certain incidents of the movies, they are not as intricate with the rest of UMC as those of ABC. The clearest example is ‘Agents of SHIELD’, whose first season had a turn based on ‘Captain America: Winter Soldier’ and who has always been concerned to comment on what is happening in the movies.

The future

With the premiere of ‘ Avengers: Endgame ‘ and absolute secrecy about what will happen in the film from Marvel they have saved a position of discretion when talking about new projects and the “Phase 4” .

This means that today we only have the absolute certainty of two film premieres, with the rest at the project stage. However, the arrival of Disney + (to the detriment of Netflix) promises a good amount of series to compensate for the lack of films.

Movie theater

  • Avengers: Endgame (April 26, 2018)
  • Spiderman: Far from home (July 5, 2019)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy vol. 3 (2021)
  • Black Widow
  • Blade
  • The Eternals
  • Shang-Chi
  • Sequel to ‘Black Panther’
  • Sequel to ‘Doctor Strange’


  • Jessica Jones T3
  • Agents of SHIELD T6-7
  • Cloak and Dagger T2
  • The Vision and the Scarlet Witch
  • Loki
  • Untitled series of Hawk and Winter Soldier
  • New Warriors