Although they have been with us for quite some time, you may still not know what is the difference between archiving and deleting a WhatsApp chat , since they are not exactly the same and could cause you some trouble in your conversations.

Most people know how to use the main features of WhatsApp , but there are some options that are so similar to each other that can cause certain questions such as archive or delete a chat. Although you think they are basically the same, you’re wrong, because there are big differences between archiving and deleting a chat, and we’ll tell you later.

We tell you what differences there are between archiving and deleting a WhatsApp chat , and how you can do each of these functions.

What is the difference between archiving and deleting a WhatsApp chat?

Delete a WhatsApp chat

As its name suggests, delete a WhatsApp chat is basically delete it . In this way the entire conversation with a certain person will be erased. In any case, deleting a WhatsApp chat allows us to clean our conversations interface of a chat with a contact from whom we no longer wish to have any chat in the future.

This is usually used when we have removed someone from our phone book and we also want to get rid of their WhatsApp conversation. You could say it’s a “forever”.

  • In Android, if you want to delete a chat simply go to the chat tab, hold down the chat you want to delete and press “delete”.
  • The iPhone, if you want to delete a chat, go to the chat tab, slide the chat you want to delete to the left, press “more”, then “delete chat”.

Archive a WhatsApp chat

At first it may seem the same, but it is not at all. Archiving a WhatsApp chat means removing it from the chat tab, but the conversation would not be deleted and would go to the “archived chats” folder. If you archive a chat you can recover the conversation at any time.

In this way, if we archive a WhatsApp chat, what we are doing is saving the conversation in order to resume it in the future. This is especially useful if we have many contacts and we want to clean the chat tab, but we do not want to delete the conversation because in the future we will resume it.

  • If you want to archive an Android chat you must go to the chat tab, then keep the chat you want to archive pressed, and in the top bar you must touch “archive”.
  • On the other hand, if you want to archive an iPhone chat you must be on the chat screen, drag your finger from right to left on the chat you want to archive, and then click on the “archive” option.

In short, if you archive a chat it will disappear from the chat tab and will be saved in the archived chats folder, so you can resume the conversation in the future. 

But if you delete a chat, the content of this conversation will not be saved, it will be permanently erased, especially useful if we just remove from the phone book any contact with whom we do not want to speak again.

Tags: #Apps , #Applications , #Whatsapp